Shortlists and Winners – 2019

We had over 50 nominations with almost all universities represented. It’s was the first time we have run the awards and we appreciate spring is a busy time of the year, as a result we have been really amazed at both the level and quality of nominations received.  We would like to thank everyone who took the time to put together a nomination and also our shortlisting panel.

The Shortlisted nominations were judged by our panels and the results were announced on Saturday, June the 15th, 2019.

Student of the year award
supported by Canonbury Healthcare

Lauren Connell (NUI Galway) – Winner


Adam Constable (BMet)
Aideen Hannah (Queen Margaret University)
Anika Hoque (Glasgow Caledonian University)
Kate Gourlay (Queen Margaret University)

The Judges

  • Professor Steve West
    Vice – Chancellor
    University of the West of England
  • Julia Tanner
    Marketing Director
    Canonbury Healthcare
  • Charlotte Holley
    Student and Ambassador
    Cardiff Metropolitan University

The student leadership award
supported by Flexitol

Footwear for Re-wear (University of Plymouth) – Winner


Margaryta Bazelchuk (Glasgow Caledonian University)
Aideen Hannah (Queen Margaret University)
Hannah Fowler (Ulster University)
Natalie McCleod (Queen Margaret University)

The Judges

  • Beverly Harden
    AHP Lead
    Health Education England
  • Caroline McGowan
    National podiatry account specialist
  • Adam Constable
    Student and Ambassador
    Birmingham Met College

Society of the year
supported by AA Podiatry:

QMU Podiatry Society (Queen Margaret University) – Winner

Educator of the year
supported by C&P Medical:

Evelyn Weir (Queen Margaret University) – Winner


Jackie Locke (Glasgow Caledonian University)
John Veto (Queen Margaret University)
Lisa Chandler (University of Northampton)
Sara Henderson (NHS Lothian)

The Judges

  • Mike Potter
    Former Lecturer
    University of Southampton
  • Mathew Holloway
    Marketing and Retail Manager
    C&P Medical
  • Francine Smith
    Student and Ambassador
    Northampton University

Inspirational podiatrist of the year
supported by DLT Chiropody & Podiatry:

Dawn Bacon (University of Southampton) – Winner


Dan Watson (University of Northampton)
Debi Monk (Forgotten Feet)
Evelyn Weir (Queen Margaret University)
John Greer (NHS Wales)
Joseph McIntyre (Queen Margaret University)


  • Jill Woods
    Practice Momentum
  • Richard Wadley
    Business Development Manager
    DLT Podiatry
  • Hannah Fowler
    Student and Ambassador
    Ulster University