Shortlists and Winners – 2020

We had lots of really fantastic nominations, as a result, we would like to thank everyone who took the time to put together a nomination and also our shortlisting panel.

The Shortlisted nominations were judged by our panels and the results were announced on Thursday, July the 2nd, 2020.

Student of the year award
in association with Forgotten Feet

Sinéad Flynn (NUI Galway) – Winner


Jessica Wheeldon (The University of Salford)
Michelle Kelly (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
Ian Abbott (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
Margaret Browne (NUI Galway)

The Judges

  • Professor Steve West
    Vice – Chancellor
    University of the West of England
  • Debbie Monk
    Forgotten Feet
  • Hannah Fowler
    Student and Ambassador
    Ulster University

The student leadership award
supported by Canonbury

Charlotte Holley (Cardiff Metropolitan University) – Winner


Catriona Doyle​ (University of Northampton​)
Nancy Kelleher (Glasgow Caledonian University​)
Kristi-Anne Kelly (New College Durham​)
Ektaa Vadgama (University of Northampton)

The Judges

  • Leigh Porter
    Lead Podiatrist
    Aberdeen City HSCP
  • Neil Simmonite
    Former Lecture
    University of Huddersfield
  • Adam Green
    Student and Ambassador
    Birmingham Metropolitan College

Society of the year
supported by AA Podiatry:

UoS Podiatry Society (University of Southampton) – Winner


QMU Podiatry Society (Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh)
UoN Podiatry Society (University of Northampton)

The Judges

  • Kevin Campbell
    Former Student President
    Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Kyleigh Doolan
    AA Podiatry
  • Charlotte Holley
    Student and Ambassador
    Cardiff Metropolitan University

Educator of the year

Sarah Curran (Cardiff Metropolitan University) – Winner


Ben Bullen (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
Joanne Fawcett (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
Jennie Round (Birmingham Metropolitan College)
Claire Froggatt (Official New College Durham)
Paul Fletcher (University of Northampton)

The Judges

  • Mike Potter
    Former Lecturer
    University of Southampton
  • Lauren Connell
    Student of the Year, 2019
    NUI Galway
  • Abbey O’Keefe
    Student and Ambassador
    NUI Galway

Inspirational podiatrist of the year
supported by Flexitol:

Pauline Wilson (NUI Galway) – Winner


Nicola French (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
Joseph McIntyre (Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh)


  • Jill Woods
    Practice Momentum
  • Caroline McGowan
    National podiatry account specialist
  • Catriona Doyle
    Student and Ambassador
    University of Northampton